My Christmas Faves!

merry_christmas_2012-1920x1080

I don’t write on my blog too often anymore. Maybe I should, I don’t know. Today is Christmas Day and over the last 12 hours or so, some of my favorite moments have happened. I wanted to tell you about three of them.

1 | Our family tradition is to open presents on Christmas Eve as a family. Last night we followed another tradition of reading Luke 2 together before we opened gifts. After we read Luke 2 together as a family, we accepted the “Silence” challenge from our Christmas Eve service. So I set a timer for 30 seconds and asked all of my family to spend that time in silence. We asked God to give us a fresh experience of Jesus this year. We took the time of silence to seek God and what His will for our lives might be. It was a great moment for all of us and I would encourage you to give it a try in your family.

Be still, and know that I am God! [Psalm 46:10 NLT]

2 | My kids purchased gifts for everyone with their own money. Now, you might be ahead of me on this one. Typically, Misty and I buy our own gifts and then tag the kids on the package. The kids help pick the gifts out, they are a part of the process, etc. This year however, each wanted to be involved at a more sacrificial level. They saved their allowances. They saved birthday money. They worked hard to have money for gifts. Then each took time and went shopping. They picked out gifts for each person in our family. They wrapped them, tagged them and passed them out last night. It was a really great moment to see my kids growing into selfless people. It was fresh for me. I loved it and I loved them. My Grant, Ashton & Avary.

3 | Grant opened a gift from Avary last night. It was a little friendship bracelet made from those little rubber bands. Grant was so appreciative and gave Avary a hug. I thought to myself, “How nice of Avary to make him a little bracelet like that.” A few minutes later Grant walked over to Misty and me and said, “This was already my bracelet.” We laughed and then Avary shouted from the other side of the room, “I found it and thought you lost it. So I saved it and wrapped it.” I died laughing. It might have been the funniest Rodda Christmas moment to date. She did buy him an actual gift, this was just an extra.

These were my three faves from this year’s Christmas so far. What moments from Christmas this year have been your faves? Share below.

 

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on December 25, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

