Osama Bin Laden And The Christian’s Response!

President Obama

The news hit late at night on May 1st, 2011.  The President of the United States of America announces that a very strategic strike by covert military forces had lead to the death of Osama Bin Laden.  The mastermind behind the 9/11 attack on the United States.  The mastermind behind hundreds of other attacks, leaving thousands dead in his wake.

At the onset of the news, I was so excited.  I’m so thankful to the countless men and women serving our nation in the military.  I’m so thankful that nearly a decade of work has paid off for them.  I’m so thankful that they didn’t quit.  I’m so thankful to the President of the United States for not giving up and for allowing us to find him.

Then I woke up Monday morning.  I felt different.  I wasn’t sure what I really felt or which was right.  My thoughts shifted to, “I’m a Christian before I’m an American.  Is it okay for me to be glad this murderer is dead?  How would Jesus have responded?”  I was so confused and not sure what to feel about the death of this man.

I have gone back and forth on this issue most of the day.  I have read Facebook posts detailing each person’s, personal opinions.  I have read the arguments.  I have even watched the videos on YouTube that are already saying the Government invented Osama Bin Laden and that he wasn’t even a real person (crazy people).  I wish I could say that I have some solid answer, but truthfully I’m still wondering what to think.

While I think some more, here are a couple of blogs from two men I respect and who are much smarter than me.  Read their thoughts here and here.

Here is where I land |

I am happy that a mass murderer is no more!

I am happy that we finally got the man who killed thousands of Americans in a matter of hours.

I am happy about that.

But…

I am sad that another soul has likely gone into eternity without Jesus as his Advocate.

I am sad that he could not be reached with the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Some of you land on one side of this argument or the other.  Some of you aren’t struggling with this at all.  And that’s okay.  You don’t have to be.  I’m not telling you how to think about this by any stretch.  However, if you are a follower of Jesus Christ, I want you to wrestle with something I am wrestling with.  From the mouth of Jesus Christ Himself.  If you are diving in deep, becoming more like Christ, tell me these words of His aren’t hard to wrestle with.

Matthew 5:44-45…

But I say, love your enemies!  Pray for those who persecute you!  In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven.  For He gives His sunlight to both the evil and the good, and He sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.

I am glad that Osama Bin Laden can never hurt another human being again!  Praise God for that.

I am sad that he met God without knowing Jesus!

What do you think?

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in discipleship, evangelism, events, God, Jesus, love, the culture, the nation, the world, world faiths, worldview. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Great thoughts. I’m with you on the struggle over how to react. Ultimately, my “celebration” was not over death, but more about the triumph of good over evil. I was a little disturbed at all of the Scripture I saw taken out of context today. I think the one you used here applies perfectly.

  2. Stan, I think many of us had the same reaction. I’m sure men/women in law enforcement often deal with the same moral dilemma. Personally, I look at the situaton as a stealthy and calibrated operation which ended up in the demise of the guilty party due to his own evil actions. Praise to the efficient and trained operators of SEAL Team 6 and the split second decisions they make.

    I don’t mean to detract from your thoughts, but only wish to supplement them with something I found especially helpful today: http://www.bridgesh.com/2011/05/godly-emotions-and-the-death-of-osama-bin-laden/

    • Not a problem at all. I’m glad to have a spot where people can post thoughts and links to others as well. I posted a comment on that blog. Very similar thoughts to what I had. I’m just glad followers of Christ are out there writing about this situation. And I agree with what you said. Thanks for reading, Mark. Come by any time. =)

  3. I understand that this is a victory, however I can’t celebrate it. And it does little for the healing process.

    • I can appreciate your perspective. For me, living in DC, I am surrounded my military personnel; everything from the Pentagon to former CIA to secret service. I know them, I do life with them, I study God’s Word with them. I can assure you, for those who were nearest to 9/11, it is a part of the healing process. I truly appreciate and honor your perspective, but for some it is very different.

  4. Josh sanchez

    As someone who is not an American I believe world justice was served but I would not go as far as to say good triumphed over evil. yes Osama was evil but is the US the representativity of goodness. I totally agree that he was guilty and as such I am glad he received punishment, but I guess I just have a problem with making any nation the representative of goodness.

    • I wouldn’t ascribe “good” to any one nation either. However, when someone like Osama falls, good has triumphed. I wouldn’t say the United States is the epitome of good, but when Hitler fell, good triumphed over evil. In my opinion anyway. Thanks for stopping by, Josh. Love hearing from you, brother! Hope things are going well for you guys!

  5. Brittany Daugherty

    Great thoughts. I wasn’t struggling at all and after reading about yours and others, I started to question why I wasn’t. I think relief that someone with the intent to destroy was defeated, came to me first. I was glad that action was taken against evil instead of passivity. Now I’m opening my heart to the reality of his soul. It is sad and yet I feel detached because I know he chose his path. Perhaps if we were in full-time ministry my perspective would be different. I feel God is just and that this man wasn’t open to Him. In the same instant I think of people like Jim Elliot who didn’t let that stop him from walking into evil. Mixed emotions. Would you have changed anything if it were up to you?

  6. Good post Stan. It is not black and white and there is a lot of gray on how we should feel as Christians and Americans but I think you summed it up well.

  7. AMANDA ESPENSCHIED

    I love reading your blogs. I miss you all!!

Leave a Reply

