I Am Dave Ferguson!

Exponential Conference

I’m here at Exponential 2011 in Orlando, FL.  Our New Life team is volunteering with a ton of cool stuff.  We’re getting to see some pretty cool behind the scenes stuff at the coolest church planters conference on the planet (someone please pass that tid bit along to Todd Wilson for me).  As we were preparing to volunteer today, we were going through some training.  Our fearless leader stood up and inspired us to volunteer like it was our last day on earth.  He was very excited and it was easy to get excited along with him.  I wanted to share a little of what he said.  If you’re a volunteer, apply what was said to your particular area of service.

In order to give this conference the “Wow” experience it deserves, volunteers have to own it like it’s their own.  Our volunteer leader helped us with that.  He told the story of Exponential and how it was the brainchild of so many great people.  One of which he mentioned specifically was Dave Ferguson.

Dave Ferguson

Mr. Dave Ferguson

You are Dave Ferguson…

…he said.  So I left and pretended to be Dave Ferguson today.  That was fun.

The point was well taken though.  If we want this conference to be as successful as it can be, we need to be as excited about it as Dave.  We need to pretend we have invested as much in it as Dave has (and many others, I’m just using Dave because that was the name that was thrown out there today).  I was inspired to, “Be Like Dave.”  He’s cooler than Mike anyway.

Then our leader said, “Every moment is your moment of truth.”  I loved that.  I think that is a great, practical statement that all volunteers in any capacity can grab onto and believe in.  Each moment is the only time you will have that moment.  Your only moment to make a first impression.  Your only moment to make the best impression for Christ that you can.  Every moment is your moment of truth.  I’ll be taking this one home to the volunteers at my Haymarket Campus.

If you are a volunteer at a church (or anywhere else for that matter), I want to encourage you.

Thank you so much for all you do.

I apologize for not telling you as often as I should.

I want to encourage you to view your role as a moment of truth.  Put yourself in the shoes of “the boss” for a minute.  Think about how much they invest in whatever it is you are doing.  You are that person.  Care for it as deeply as they do.  Give it your all.  Especially if you are volunteering in a ministry.  There’s nothing more important than the work you are doing.  View every moment as your moment of truth.  It is your moment to make a huge impact on someone’s life and ultimately for the Kingdom of God.

Do you volunteer?

What do you do?

And, thank you.  Thank you so much for volunteering!

Tomorrow, I’ll be Dave Ferguson again.  Not a bad looking guy I guess.  It could be worse.  I could be….whoa!  About got myself in trouble there.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Church Planting, conferences, events, Fun, journey, missional communities, pastors, practical ministry, volunteers. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. how long til we walk around saying “I am Jesus”?

    • I don’t think they were trying to take anything away from Jesus by any stretch. Just a vision thing to encourage volunteers to do their best for the conference and those who created it.

  2. Thanks for sharing that perspective. Mark and I lead a ministry team at our church and have recently been really discouraged about it. But reading this and thinking about what you wrote is really challenging me to “reembrace” the role we have been given. Thanks. And have fun in Orlando, I will wave as I drive by today 🙂

    • Awesome, April. If our team wasn’t busy doing team building stuff (hahah), it would be great to get together with you guys. Not sure I will have the evening free though. I hate that I’m this close and can’t catch up with you all. Keep up the great work! I’m sure you guys are amazing volunteers. I mean, you are Rodda’s after all! =)

      • Your days sounds very busy, don’t worry about not having free time. I think Mark and I are going to be up your way for a weekend of fun (rather than work, for a change) in June and we hope we can stop and visit for a bit. Yeah, sort of Rodda’s…we have the Rodda spirit!!!

Leave a Reply

