Muscle Rollers And Discipleship!

I just finished  a short run.  I needed to clear my brain and have some time to think.  It has been a while since I last went for a run.  So before long, all I could think about was my legs.  They were revolting in every way.  When I got home, I did some stretching, but that didn’t help.  So, I busted out the trusty, handheld muscle roller.  For those who have used one of these, it’s a modern day, torture device.

Grab each end, and roll the small, plastic wheels over whatever muscle is sore.  It’s amazing how many tiny bumps this torture device health tool will find.  Press down and slowly roll out the kink in your muscles.  If you aren’t screaming in pain, or crying, you’re doing it wrong.  The only thing that keeps you rolling over every muscle fiber, putting yourself through that kind of pain, is knowing that on the other side, your muscles will be thanking you.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about discipleship and all that Jesus expects of me.  As a follower of Christ, there are certain disciplines that I want to have in my life.  I want to spend time reading the Bible.  I want to spend time praying.  But sometimes those disciplines can be a little like the handheld, muscle roller.

Some days, I read the Bible and something jumps out at me.  It lands on some of the most sensitive areas of my heart and soul.  Then it begins to work, rolling back and forth.  Often times there is pain and tears associated with the work God is doing.  As a disciple of Jesus, I open myself up to being examined and improved by the Holy Spirit of God.  And when He does His work, it can be painful as even the tiniest, hidden parts of me are exposed.  He brings them to my attention and I’m forced to deal with them.  I’m forced to look at my flaws in light of the perfect God-man, Jesus Christ, who I claim to follow.

Yet, I want to be exposed.  I want the Holy Spirit of God to see every part of me.  Why?  Because I know that growing through those times will lead to an even closer relationship with my Father.

This is not about how great or wonderful I am.  This is about a journey of faith, growing to be more like Christ.  And along the way, Jesus is shaping me into His likeness.  Sometimes it’s a painful process, but I believe that it will all be worth it in the end.

Zechariah 13:9 – “I will bring that group through the fire and make them pure.  I will refine them like silver and purify them like gold.  They will call on my name, and I will answer them.  I will say, ‘These are my people,’ and they will say, ‘The Lord is our God.’”

Have you ever used a muscle roller?

What images, metaphors, come to mind when you think of discipleship and growing to be more like Christ?

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on April 12, 2011, in bible, discipleship, disciplines, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, journey, Life, pastors, sacrifice, the basics, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have never used one of them and after listening I am not sure I want to! LOL i went for a 22 mile ride today. I came back, took a shower and then put a massager on my legs and tried to dig deep with it as I massaged toward my heart. It hurt like fire in some spots but I knew I was doing the right thing. I was working to get the acid out of my thighs. Faith seems to be like that. I am not sure that what doesn’t hurt isn’t worth much. Does that make sense? I rode a good part against 15-20 mph winds. I was hurting when I was but also relished the “wind at my back time.” I learned to appreciate that much more when I struggled against it. Does that make sense? Good thoughts by the way.

  2. Kristin Brænne

  3. never used a “muscle roller,” but i sometimes put most of my weight on my leg on top of a tennis ball, and roll it to massage the muscles. i think it causes that same pain you’re talking about.

    as far as discipleship and pain go (together), it makes me think of hebrews 12 (i think) where God disciplines his children. some of the worst pain i’ve ever been through in my life was what i believe to have been the Father’s discipline. but now i’m so incredibly glad i went through it.

    • Same effect as a tennis ball I imagine. Foam rollers also do the same thing. Good point on the discipline of a father as well. Sometimes that is very relevant as well.

  4. I think of the metaphor of winter becoming spring – slowly, lots of false starts but more and more coming back to life full of vibrant colors.

Leave a Reply

