Missional Living!

Ephesians 4:11-15 says…

Now these are the gifts Christ gave to the church: the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, and the pastors and teachers.  Their responsibility is to equip God’s people to do his work and build up the church, the body of Christ.  This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ.  Then we will no longer be immature like children.  We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching.  We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth.  Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ, who is the head of his body, the church.  *emphasis mine

There are so many applications to this passage it seems.  There are directives to those who lead the church.  People in positions of leadership who shepherd God’s people.  But there is an even greater emphasis here.  One that lies at the heart of an issue I seem to continually wrestle with.  There is a huge emphasis in this passage not on the leaders of the church, but on every person who calls themselves a follower of Christ, a Christian.

What we know from this passage is that Christianity is not a spectator sport.  Over the last 2000 years or so, the church has done a really good job at making church a spectator sport.  “Sit in our pews.  Listen to what we say.  Do as your told.  Follow these rules.  Preacher knows all the answers.  You are dumb.  You can’t speak to God, I’ll do that.  Come to our potluck dinner.  We’ll make it all happen for you.”  And it seems to me that we have done a great job at creating spectators, fans, those who simply watch the show but don’t actually take part in making it happen.

That is changing.  Winds of change are beginning to blow in the world.  Everyday people, normal, ordinary followers of Christ are starting to make a difference.  They are living different.  They have a different mindset.  They aren’t sitting idly by and letting someone else use their gifts and talents, they are actively pursuing God’s mission and purpose for their life.  They are living life on mission.  They are living, well, like missionaries.

Take a look around at the community you live in.  What are some of the needs you see?

Is there a homeless shelter nearby?

What is the percentage of homelessness in your area?

Are there hungry families?

What percentage of families live below the poverty line?

How many people are struggling just to pay for groceries?

Are there food banks nearby working hard to offer a simple meal?

What about abused moms?

Are teens in your neighborhood struggling?

I wonder, what would Jesus’ office look like if he were here, doing ministry today.  I wonder if he would have the corner office with a nice window and a good view of the city.  Maybe he would have a comfortable couch with a few plants and a picture of his mom and dad on his desk.  He would be furiously typing out the “Sermon on the Mount – Part 2” on his MacBook Air.  His iPhone would be buzzing constantly with emails and demands from people.

But it doesn’t take long to notice something different in the life of Jesus.  Let’s just say, you have to be pretty close to a prostitute for her to pour perfume all over your feet, to wipe you down with her hair and to cry on your shoulder.  You have to be pretty close to the traitor to share a meal with him or to receive a kiss on the cheek.  There isn’t much room in his life for an office space when there are thousands of people feed.

In every aspect of the word, Jesus lived as a missionary in the world.  He was a missionary to mankind.  And in every aspect of the word, I can’t grow to be like Christ until I am doing the same thing.  I can’t live like a missionary in my world when I don’t even have “non-Christian” friends in my life.  It’s hard to be like Jesus when I don’t share a meal with people who don’t share my values.  It’s hard to be like Christ when I don’t rub elbows with anyone who doesn’t think, feel, believe and look like me.  When it comes to being like Christ, I have a long way to go.  But it starts with a belief, a belief that translates into action.  It’s the belief that I am a missionary right where I am.  I am not here to spectate and watch the world go by, I am here with a purpose and mission to help make a difference and to share Jesus with people.

So what about you?

How would you feel if I told you that you were more than “just a Christian,” but that you were a missionary for Christ right where you are?

Would that change the way you view your world?  Would that change how you act toward people?  Would that change who and how you interact with people?

Over the next few weeks, I will probably talk about this topic a lot more.  I have a lot of thoughts on my mind about this very issue.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on January 24, 2011, in bible, Church, discipleship, evangelism, God, Jesus, Life, love, missional communities, missionary, pastors, relationships, the basics, the culture, the nation, the world. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Stan: I live in a very small community so the homeless situation and “sleeping under the bridge” is almost non-existent although I am sure there are instances of it happening. Our community is blessed with more alcoholism and meth use than should be. We are the #2 poorest state in Indiana, the #1 in meth production/use and #1 in teen pregnancy. We know there is something that can be done but not sure exactly what/how. I am also glad that we are getting away for the “pastor can do it” syndrome. Used to be an old southern gospel song with lyrics: “It’s a battlefield brother not a recreation room; it’s a fight and not a game.” That about sums it up. Good thoughts today

    • Thanks, Bill. Sounds like you guys have a great opportunity to be Jesus in your community. I pray you guys are able to find some creative ways to really bring Jesus to the lives of those who are hurting. I will be posting more on this topic. My mind is swirling with the missional stuff right now.

  2. I think about this a lot also, maybe not in the same aspect you do. But I constantly think “if Jesus was here, what would people be saying about him.” I don’t spend all my time with Christians and I do rub elbows with non-believers. I’m not kissing them, but they are people are I have invested in and some of them are great friends. They are watching me up close and personal transforming into someone they don’t recognize but they know I will always be there for them when they need me. I find they are coming to me more often for advice and how to handle certain situations. I struggle with the same urges and temptations that they do, so I have a deep understanding of how they are feeling and thinking. In that, lies trust with non believers.

    • That’s a great comment, Jaime. Thank you. Unfortunately for me, I end up being so “busy” in the Christian bubble that I often don’t ever make those crucial relationships with people outside of the church. I need to make a specific effort at making that happen.

  3. Good thoughts Stan. The challenge is always to check our hearts and see whether or not we want to help our neighbor.

    If it feels like a chore then we better figure out why.

    • True. That’s a great point. Here’s my question then; how do we grow and help others grow to where that becomes a natural part of who we are? Again, I come back to the question of discipleship. =) We have talked about that before.

Leave a Reply

