Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  I wanted to post some of the things I am thankful for today.  Seems like an appropriate day for it.Turkey

  • I’m thankful for the first person who saw this bird, and thought to themselves, “I bet, after a few hours in an oven, that is one tasty bird.”
  • I’m thankful for a country that lets me eat turkey if I want to.
  • I’m thankful for being able to watch football and eat turkey at the same time.
  • I’m thankful for toilet paper.
  • I’m thankful for toothpaste.
  • I’m thankful for a home that has heat in the winter.
  • I’m thankful for good friends to share an amazing dinner with.
  • I’m thankful for a family that constantly helps me to grow and become a better man.
  • I’m thankful for a wife who loves me and allows me to be the man God has created me to be.
  • I’m thankful for an amazing staff team to work with at New Life Christian Church.
  • I’m thankful for a healthy church that is striving together to accomplish God’s mission on earth.
  • I’m thankful for mentors who have taken time to pour life experience into me.
  • I’m thankful for a faith that goes beyond religious legalism and manipulation.
  • I’m thankful that God is bigger than my faults and mistakes.
  • I’m thankful for His grace.
  • I’m thankful for His mission.
  • I’m thankful that He has invited me to be a part of His work.

I have so much to be thankful for.  I’m sure I could make this list go on forever.  There’s so much to be thankful for in our world.  So my question for you is; what are you thankful for?  You don’t have to leave an exhaustive list, but maybe your top 2 or 3.  As consumerism knocks at the door of taking over the next 30 days or so of our lives, let’s use this day to slow down and keep a proper perspective on the things that really count in our lives.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on November 25, 2010, in God, holidays, marriage, relationships, the basics, the culture, the nation. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m thankful that I live in a country where I am free…freedom of speech, freedom to worship God…and I am SO thankful for our military personnel who protect our freedoms at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

  2. Things are happening in my life that I have been fighting for a long time and right now I’m humbled and most thankful for God not giving up on me when I gave up on him! This time last year, I wasn’t sure if I was cut out for this life. I have new purpose, and feel truly blessed!

    • Jaime, that’s fantastic. I love hearing stories like that. I have been in a similar place before. I’m so glad God has made Himself very evident in your life and given you a fresh view of His purpose for you. =) That’s awesome stuff.

  1. Pingback: Friends Worksheet

Leave a Reply

