Father’s Day!

I hope all of the father’s out there were really blessed by their families on Father’s Day.  I know that I had an amazing day.  My family took great care of me and we had a lot of fun together.  We had lunch at Texas Roadhouse (my aunt and uncle joined us as well).  Then it was off to a short nap and some relaxation in the afternoon.  And then we had a family movie night.  It was a great day.

Father's Day

Father's Day

But there was one very special moment that stuck out a little more than the rest.  It was Saturday and my son, Grant, came to me with a card.  It was a day early but he said he decided he wanted to give it to me ahead of time.  The outside of the card had the words, “To Dad, From Grant” written in crayon and pencil.  It was his homemade card just for me.  Then I opened it to read the inside.  And this is what he had to say (punctuation corrections mine).

I love you, Dad

I love you, Dad

I love you, Dad

You’re funny and you’re tall

You can swim and you can bike

But I love it when you’re home best of all.

I thought this was pretty sweet of him.  He had taken a poetry class at school and put it to good use.  Father’s Day is great!  I can’t wait for next year already.

What did you do for Father’s Day?

What sticks out to you about your father?

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on June 21, 2010, in Family, holidays, the basics, the culture. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You sure you weren’t in Bloomington, IN yesterday? We also went to Texas Roadhouse where in my opinion they have the best salmon. Glad you had a good day. My 2 girls are grown but took the time to call and my grandson called and yelled Happy FD and I love you to me. That was all that was needed. 🙂 Glad you had a good day.

    • culturalawakening

      That’s awesome, Bill. I’m sure a phone call from the grandson was awesome. And Texas Roadhouse has some of the best food, period. I saw that Craig Gross was at TR as well, but I don’t think he was in DC. Glad your father’s day was good as well.

Leave a Reply

