Top Ten

On June 3, 2000, I was married to a beautiful, young lady named Misty.  It has been 10 years since we were married.  Our life has been one incredible journey.  It has been a journey of faith, one that has inspired, one that has hurt and one that has drawn us close together.

We just returned from an overnight stay for our Anniversary.  It got me thinking about our life together.  After 10 years, there are many things that I have learned and many things that I have yet to learn.  For now, I want to share the top ten things I love about my wife (in no particular order).

10 – Her Tireless Care For Her Family

I don’t know any more who works as hard for her family as my wife.  There is probably a reason why at the end of the day she basically crashes on her bed.  She tirelessly cares for her family…all 4 of us…all day long.  It is her caring heart for us that has endeared me to her.

9 – Her Ability To See The Positive In Any Situation

Has your family ever been in a situation that could easily become an “end of the world” type of situation.  We have experienced those like all other normal, families.  However, there is one minor difference in our home.  My wife can find a way to make it a positive.  I have seen our kids do some of the craziest, off the wall things, and my wife will say something like, “Grab the camera.  This is hilarious.”  It’s one of those things that is small, but it is invaluable to daily life.  And I’m even more thankful for the way she see the positives in my many gaffs.  I have made a lot of mistakes in my life and my wife always helps me see the positive and how I can grow through it.

8 – The Way She Encourages The Best In Her Kids

She has an amazing ability to see gifts and abilities in her children.  She sees them as unique and understands that it is important to direct those talents in the right direction.  When our kids have the chance to use their abilities, she is right there to encourage them in the right direction.  I love the way she encourages the best in our kids.

7 – Her Passion To Use Her Gifts And Abilities

My wife flies in the face of the stereotypical, stay at home wife.  Many people see stay at home moms as held back, or 1950’s kitchen mom’s or whatever other stereotype you can think of.  My wife has gifts and talents.  She knows what they are.  And she finds a way to use them.  She loves photography, so she started a photography business.  She loves children, so she is getting a job at a pre-school.  She is passionately following her gifts and abilities.  And I love to watch her flourish.

6 – Her Ability To Move Beyond Life’s Difficulties

I will not be sharing any details in this post about “life’s difficulties.”  However, I have seen my wife go through some of the most difficult situations a wife and mother should ever have to be put in.  I have held her while she has cried because she has felt that she lost too many years of our children’s lives to some difficult ministry situations.  I have seen her encounter steps of faith that can be difficult at first, yet she always handles them with grace.  When life has been difficult, she has taken it head on, then graciously overcome the obstacle.  She is the strongest woman I know and I’m so thankful for that.

5 – Her Willingness To Put Her Life On Pause For Nearly A Decade

My wife has gifts and abilities that drive her to want to accomplish things with her life.  Yet she has been the most sacrificial wife I know.  She has given so much of herself to me and her children.  I get more angry as a father when I feel myself taking advantage of her for that, or when I see our kids sometimes act ungrateful toward their mom.  None of us has any real idea how much she has sacrificed for us.  And for that, I am forever indebted to her.  Thank you for sacrificing so much for us my love.

4 – The Way She Soaks In New Information

One of my favorite things about my wife is her desire to grow and learn new things.  I love watching her read a book.  You can see her eyes light up as she learns something new.  She likes to share the many details of something insight she has gained.  We could talk for hours about her thoughts on LOST.  I just love watching her grow even smarter, leaving me in the dust intellectually.

3 – The Way She Looks At Me

Sometimes when things in life are a little bumpy, we will have deep conversations.  But when the going gets tough, she sometimes gives me this look.  It’s not the general “look” that most men get.  It’s not the “look” that the husbands on TV get when their wives are annoyed at them.  She looks at me as if to say, “Stan, I trust you and I believe in you.”  Pretty sure she has said those words, but when she looks at me and puts her trust and security in my leadership, I am fulfilled.  She helps me become who God wants me to be.  The only way I can fulfill my purpose in life is when my wife allows me to and helps me accomplish it.  Thank you for helping me fulfill my purpose in life, Misty.

2 – The Way She Weaves God Into Our Daily Life

Many times I have heard her in a conversation with our children and she will begin to quote Scripture.  She has an incredible ability to weave things of God into the daily life of our family.  Many people might think they have to be scholars and theologians to do this, but it’s just the simply, every day things when you can help your kids see God in a practical way.  I love to watch her when she is in this mode.  It’s beautiful to see God be brought into our lives in a practical way.

Misty and I

My Beautiful Wife, Misty

1 – Because She Loves Me

I love her back because I can see in her life and actions that she loves me first.  I am so thankful for her unconditional love, even when I’m at my worst.  She always loves me first.  My stupid pride gets in the way sometimes, but she never fails to be humble and show me her love through her actions.  I can see so much of how God loves me, just by watching her.  And after all, isn’t that how we are supposed to show the world God’s love for us, by living it out with each other?  She has an amazing depth to her love.  I only hope I can hold half the love for others that she has.

My wife is a beautiful, articulate, intelligent, loving and compassionate individual.  God is doing big things in her life and I am lucky to be able to share life with her.  Thanks for the last 10 years my love.  I can’t wait to see what the next 10 bring.  I love you so much!

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on June 12, 2010, in Family, the basics, the culture. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Fantastic Stan! Misty, as I read these beautiful words from your husband to the world all I could hear was, “this is what it means to be a Proverbs 31 woman”

    “Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: ‘Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.’ ” (Pr 31: 28-29)

    Thank you Stan for sharing. May you both continue to walk in His love and guidance for each other. May you continue to see His wisdom in all for your family. May He pour out His blessings on you for the next ten years and for generations to come through your children!

    Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

