Called To Make Disciples!

Making disciples of Jesus Christ is an impressive and daunting call.  It’s impressive and daunting because it calls us to develop and equip someone to do something that we ourselves could probably do.  It’s the old, “If you want it done right, you have to do it yourself,” idea.  Don’t think discipleship is hard, give this a try.  Ask your three year old daughter to carry her plate of spaghetti to the sink after dinner some night.  I did.  Do you know what happened?  That’s right.  Spaghetti noodles all over the floor just in front of the sink, plate upside down and a fork slid under the counters.

You know, I could have carried that plate to the sink myself.  I could have done it and there wouldn’t have been an extra mess to clean up.  It would have been so much easier to just do it myself.  That’s why discipleship is hard.  We are called not only to bring others to Christ through a discipling process, but we’re also called to let go.  Discipleship is about us letting go of control because ultimately, we can’t do it all ourselves.

What I’m trying to ask is this…

How will my daughter ever learn to carry her plate to the sink if she isn’t allowed to make a few messes?

How will people ever learn to  if we are continually spoon feeding them the answers?

If the church isn’t in the process of making disciples, then what have we been making all these centuries?

We have been creating consumers.

We have been enabling spiritual immaturity.

Some view the clergy as the elite and the laity as those who “need” us.

So we spoon feed for too long.  Then something happens.  One day it all changes.  The sermon isn’t quite up to par.  The music is a little off.  Life group didn’t have the same “oomph” tonight.  And suddenly, the people aren’t being fed.  So what happens?  You begin to hear things like this;

I just don’t feel fed here anymore.

The pastor just isn’t reaching me.

I just don’t feel the Holy Spirit in this place like I used to.

I need deeper sermons to help me grow.

I need someone to carry my spaghetti to the sink for me.

We are called to make disciples of Jesus Christ.  Disciples look like people described by Jesus in Mark 8 when He says, “If you are serious about discipleship, you must deny yourself, take up your cross and follow Me.”

And I can tell you with 100% certainty, carrying a cross is much more difficult than a plate of spaghetti.

So, what are you helping create?

Consumers or Cross-carriers?

More on discipleship to come.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on May 19, 2010, in Church, discipleship, evangelism, Family, God, Leadership, pastors, the basics, the culture. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I agree!!! It’s easy for a church to get in the mindset that the ministers are paid to do all the work. So they don’t have to. Perhaps ministers also contribute to this. Anyway, a healthy church is a church that is being the body of Christ and not expecting just a few people to be the hands, feet, head, torso, arms, little pinky toe……

  2. roddafamily5

    Such a challenging blog. You’ve challenged me in parenting and in my faith. Double whammy! I’m doing no one any favors by taking on all the responsibility myself. In fact, I am robbing them of growth opportunities. Lots to think about. (And very well written, as well!)

  3. Stan, you have a whole crew of people (I think) who are really ready to be disciples, true disciples…How exciting is that? We are His hands and feet…His eyes, His heart…we need to be ready for hard questions, real life situations and life changing moments…again, isn’t that exciting!!!

  1. Pingback: Be A Disciple First! « Just Great Stuff!

Leave a Reply

