Exponential – Day 2!

Today was an amazing day.  There are some of the most gifted speakers in the church here in Orlando, right now.  It is an electric atmosphere.

It started around 9.  Finished up the day one, intensive pre-conference with Tim Stevens.  He had fantastic thoughts strategic planning relating to volunteers.  God’s Kingdom relies upon the amazing work of volunteers.  And I can’t thank the volunteers at New Life Haymarket Campus enough for all they do.  I will be showing them a lot more love when I get home.

Then it was off to lunch.  Before I got there, I bumped into a man you may have heard of.  His name is Francis Chan.  That was really cool.  P. F. Chang’s was fantastic.  If you haven’t eaten there yet, I highly recommend them.  I even bumped into a friend of mine and his wife, Chad & Kara Simpkins.  I came on at New Life as the Haymarket Campus Pastor and had two months of transition time with Chad.  He is in Chapel Hill, North Carolina planting a church now.  I consider him a good friend and it was good to see him again.

Back at the main conference site, they were gearing up for the first main session.  Worship from the crew at Mosaic Church was off the charts.  Then Mark Batterson gave us the toughest 10 minute sermon I’ve ever heard.  He was immediately followed by a slightly well known author and church planter, Louie Giglio.  He gave the best, most passionate message on the power of the Holy Spirit I have ever heard.  I was speechless and very convicted when he was done.

My day could have ended there, but it was off to two afternoon workshops.

First, I went to a workshop on social media and the church.  Should the church be afraid of social media or utilize it to help bring the amazing message of Jesus Christ to where people already are.  I’m all for social media and I use it like crazy.  I only hope to be able to use it effectively.  Kem Meyer taught and she was great.  Then it was off my second workshop.  It was all about keeping your marriage healthy in the context of when you are church planting.  Dan & Shannon Smith, formerly on staff at New Life, did a fantastic job.  Their talk was designed to help couples keep their marriages healthy and fresh in the context of church planting.  I was inspired to be a better husband.  The afternoon was unbelievable and I’m stoked for the rest of the week.  Can’t wait to hear what God has to say to me through these people.

Just put me to bed now.  My day was complete.  Until, our crew stopped at Cuba Libre for dinner.  I don’t know enough words in the English language to adequately describe how delicious my steak was.  I’ll leave it at that.  If you’re ever in Orlando, you need to head south on International Drive, past Sea World.  There are some out of this world, places to eat.  I’m going home at least 5 pounds heavier, and I don’t even care.

Now, I’m chilling in the room, hanging with the guys, decompressing from a great day.

I’ll be back tomorrow night for a Day 3 recap!  Night!

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on April 20, 2010, in Church, Church Planting, discipleship, evangelism, Leadership, missional communities, pastors, social media, technology, the basics, the culture, the nation, the world. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can you see the green stuff flowing out of me? I had given some thought to going to Exponential but didn’t follow through because I am not a church planter in the strictest sense. I came to this church less than a year after its birth, led them through the mission/vision stage (they had none) and have sort of been in on the ground floor of a lot but I did not plant the church and really have no “vision” to be one in the future. Just read Mark Batterson’s take on Louie’s message. WOW! I would have loved to have heard it. Well, hope your day goes well today. Love the updates.

Leave a Reply

