Exponential – Day 1!

I have heard about the Exponential Conference before, but have never been able to attend.  This year I have the chance.

Exponential is a Church Planting Conference.  Some of the best people in church plants come together to encourage each other and to get their hands on church planting resources.  Not to mention it is in Orlando, Florida this year. That’s hard to beat.

Day started early, 5:00 am early.  Not my favorite time of day to be honest.  Flight left for Orlando from Washington Dulles around 9 am.  Pretty sure I left my green jacket in the concourse.  So if you’re at Gate B70, keep an eye out for my green, Estes Park jacket.  Thanks.

The airport in Orlando is beautiful.  Definitely gets you in the tropical, beach feel right away.  Complete with the glass ceiling and palm trees throughout, it’s quite the place.

Went straight from there to an hour wait for our rental car at Thrifty.  Thanks, Thrifty, for being super speedy.

Pre-Conference with Tim Stevens.  He has some fantastic material on volunteer strategies.  Maybe I’ll buy his book.  Then I’ll have some new material for the plane ride home on Thursday.  Tim is a part of Granger Community Church in Indiana.  God has been blessing them in big ways.  Great church!  I even met Kem Meyer.  Life might be complete if she starts following me on Twitter.  ^_^

Then it was time for dinner.  And holy cow, was I ready for dinner.  So the search began for dinner in Orlando.  Our staff landed at B. B. King’s restaurant.  Put that one on your bucket list.  Yum!  Live blues too.  B. B. King himself will be there on May 4th & 10th.  Plan a quick vacation to Orlando for that.

Overall, I would say Day 1 at Exponential has been a success.  Now I’m exhausted.  Need I remind you I was up at 5 am.  Not my time of day.

I miss my family already, but left them with a fun treasure hunt game to play everyday while I’m gone.

I’ll talk to you again at the end of Day 2.

Good night.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on April 19, 2010, in Church, Church Planting, discipleship, evangelism, Leadership, missional communities, missionary, the basics, the culture, the nation. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Dude… I was already following you & you didn’t even know it. 🙂

    BTW… I am exhausted from day 1 as well.

  2. Thanks for writing this. Hope you’ll keep it up all four days so I can get the recap of what’s happening there. I love you!

Leave a Reply

