Are You LOST?

For a long time, I have refrained from putting onto “paper,” my thoughts about LOST.  Probably the fear of getting it wrong and looking like a complete dork, has contributed to this.  LOST is now beginning the big descent.  They are within 10 shows of the finale.  I am very torn at this point.  I don’t want it to end, but I also want the answer.  I want to know the intricacies of what made this show tick and what made it such a national phenomenon.  I want the answer to the numbers and what they mean.  Will anyone, ever, be able to create a show with such depth and amazing character development?  Highly unlikely in my opinion.  For those of you who are already confused, I suggest sitting down with Netflix, begin at season 1, and just start watching.

I wish I could say with 100% accuracy that there was a “Christian” undertone to the show.  My guess is that ultimately it won’t be as much “Christian,” as much as “spiritual.”  Having said that, this past week’s episode, not bothering to mention countless others, really drives home some deeply “Christian” thoughts to me.

Jack Shephard

Jack Shepherd

Take for instance the scene with Jack and Richard.  (Spoiler alert – if you haven’t seen this week’s episode, don’t read any further)  So Richard is this immortal character.  He never ages and apparently, can’t die.  He walks into this giant ship in the middle of the island.  He tells Jack he is going in there to die.  Jack follows him in, along with Hurley.  Richard tells Jack that because of Jacob’s touch, he can not die.  Apparently, he has tried to kill himself before because he says that it won’t work.  So he is going to have Jack do it.  The conversation leads to Jack lighting a stick of dynamite, sitting on a table right next to Richard.

The fuse is lit and begins to make its way toward the stick of dynamite.  One character has already met his Maker from this dynamite and Hurley is still picking pieces of him out of his clothes.  🙂  Anyway, Jack sits down and begins to have a conversation with Richard while the fuse is burning.  Jack is now convinced that Jacob has brought him here for a reason.  Apparently, seeing his childhood home in a “magic” mirror has him convinced he was supposed to be there.  Remember, Jack and Locke had debated many times about how they ended up on the island.  It was Locke who was originally in the camp of faith and destiny.  Jack was in the camp of science and gravity as to why they were there.  Through many episodes and a lot of pain, Jack is beginning to realize, he is supposed to be on the island.  So he tells Richard that there’s no way the dynamite is going to explode because he can’t die either.  The fuse gets right down to the last inch (or less) and goes out.  No explosion.  Richard goes on living, as does Jack.  Richard is now convinced and will most likely become Jack’s new right-hand man.

Richard Alpert

Richard Alpert

So why bother telling you all of that?  Here’s the spiritual parallel to us.  Jack has made many mistakes; so many in fact that he has attempted to run away from his “destiny,” his purpose for being on the island.  His running took him clear back home where he experienced nothing but misery.  Yet, as Jacob continues to work behind the scenes, Jack finds himself being drawn back to the island, to his purpose.

I see this in many instances, probably the most popular being the story of Jonah.  A guy running from everything he knows deep down is right, but has too many other issues to pursue what is right.  So he runs, runs as far as he can from his purpose, that being a trip to Nineveh.  As he runs, he experiences nothing but misery.  A major sea storm, a bunch of sailors who chuck him overboard and from there, nothing but a bunch of large fish mucus and vomit.  Not really a thrilling picture.

But this is exactly how God works in our lives.  We butcher the plan.  We run from God.  We call it anything in the book, anything other than a purpose or destiny.  We invent reasons to run away from our calling.  We do our best to get away from it in pursuit of what we actually think is best for our lives.  So we run from God.  We leave the island.  We throw our purpose away.

It is at this point that many people start getting confused.  This is not the part where God’s wrath comes into play and He starts smiting people.  This is the part where God’s grace comes into play.  This is the part where, even though Jack experiences some rough times and so do we, God begins to draw us back to His purpose for our life.  “We have to go back, Kate.  We have to go back.”

And while we run, God in His all sufficient grace, uses our experiences in life to redirect us back to His purposes.  He brings us back to the island.  Through all of our mistakes, God redeems us and uses our lives to accomplish His will.

LOST might just be another TV show to some of you, but to me, it’s one of the most beautifully constructed, images of the battle between Good & Evil and how God will ultimately accomplish His purposes.  The LOST producers don’t even have to go that far or even come out and say that.  But I am beginning to take something away from the show that is ultimately deepening my faith in the God who loves me, has a purpose for me, has given His all for me and is continually redeeming me and bringing me back into His will.  Now that’s exciting!

You can’t kill Him.  You know the rules.”

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on March 11, 2010, in music and entertainment, technology, television, the basics, the culture. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great thoughts, babe. (And well written!) I love talking LOST with you. 😉 ❤

  2. Truly Deep my friend, and so close to my heart. You just made my love the show even more. Which I didn’t think was possible!! Thanks!

  3. Great insight! I myself have been drawing the very same conclusions. The quote that stuck out for me this week?

    Linus in his desperation and feeling no redemption trys to join Lock (evil incarnate – aka “satan”), answers the question “Why?” with “Cause no one else will have me!”

    I almost “LOST” it when she responds, “I’ll have you.”

    Isn’t that exactly what we are called to do? Forgive. How many people have we seen as “unforgiveable” and we turn our backs on them, only to have them run to the only one that would have them.

    In forgiveness, grace, and mercy, Linus is amazed and perplexed but drawn to the forgiveness. Subsequently chooses the “good” over “evil”.

    Left me with a lump in my throat.

    I agree with you on the Christian undertones and the writers don’t need to even go deeper to make me sit back and think. It is very exciting!

    Good post Stan!

    • culturalawakening

      Thanks Lisa. I actually wanted to hit on that same scene in the future. You hit the nail on the head. That was an extremely powerful scene. I believe that it is the defining moment in Ben’s life as he now sees the mistakes he has made. He appears to have had a genuine change of heart. I think the storyline will be interesting with him, Jack and Richard from here forward. I’m so excited to see how this things goes down. Love this show. 🙂

      I am not putting anything past Hurley either. He is getting deeper and deeper into the story I think. He might be a surprise candidate that most of us have overlooked.

  4. Lisa, I just about “lost” it too! I had huge tears in my eyes as I watched Ben cling to that forgiveness. What a powerful scene!

  5. Stephanie Dalrymple

    Great thoughts! I love this show as well. As I watched this week’s episode I kept drawing a parallel between Ben and Judas. Ben was one of Jacob’s disciples and would do anything for him and the island but in the end betrayed him. Of course, the parallel ends there because he doesn’t kill himself but finds forgiveness. I also thought that Richard’s reaction reminded me of the disciples’ reactions to Jesus’ death, maybe even Peter’s. He as well was one of Jacob’s most devoted followers but seemed to lose his way after Jacob’s death—even making the comment to someone that if Jacob said it don’t believe it…completely denying that Jacob had any actual purpose or plan for the island at all. I’m sure the writer’s did not intend these connections and they don’t match perfectly but I couldn’t help but notice the similarities in the reactions of Jacob’s disciples and the reactions of Jesus’ That’s why I love this show..it’s so thought provoking.

  6. Good thoughts Stan. My wife and I are LOST fans as well. That show is all about redemption stories. People with all kinds of broken lives can be used to do good things.

    I think you got something there with the Hurley idea. He’s starting to question a lot less and is becoming obedient to Jacob’s leading.

    • culturalawakening

      I told my wife if leaders influence people, Hurley has been doing a lot of influencing. I definitely am not selling him short anymore.

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

