Transformers: Rise of the Fallen -or- Pop Culture Trash!

If I ever meet the person who made the new Transformers movie I’m going to kick them in their knee. Honestly, the movie, aside from being over 2 full hours long, was pretty good…I would say it was equal parts fantastic and complete crap.

Fantastic in the sense that the special effect were first rate, the action sequences were well constructed and pretty easy to follow and the story line didn’t bog down too much… it kept moving.

Complete crap in several ways.

The overall story line of the two movies has some glaring inconsistencies with it’s self and common sense in general… To avoid looking like a TOTAL nerd I won’t expound.

This movie displays some severely critical messages about our society as a whole both in the way it was made and in the way it’s been received. Immediately into the movie I noticed that the Transformers were speaking a lot more than they did in the first movie, but more concerning was WHAT they were actually saying. 90% of the profanity, crude, immature humor and graphic violence was from the “good” transformers, not the humans or the “bad”transformers… There was a lot more “personality” given to the individual robots in this movie, and sadly, the “personalities” were LOADED with racial stereotypes and attitudes more congruent with a gangster rap video than a sci-fi action movie about cartoon robots. I don’t remember my Transformers ever saying “bitch-ass Decepticon” before shooting someone in the face or “I’m gona bust a cap in your ass” with a gold tooth and chains around their neck, or “Damn I’m good” after cutting another robot in half in slow motion. All lines spoken by the good guys in the movie. The movie even ended with Optimus Prime twisting a pipe around the head of the bad guy and saying “give me your face” as he literally rips his face off, spilling different kinds of oil or whatever all over the movie screen. It saddens me that people think movies have to be this way to be any good. None of this fit with the movie and was all blatantly and purposefully added into the movie.

Equally nauseating was the way the audience reacted to these certain scenes. THIS IS NOT A MOVIE FOR CHILDREN! Movies have ratings for a reason. I’ll say this so nobody misunderstands me, I dont want to be accused of saying something I didnt…

ANYONE WHO TAKES THEIR CHILD TO SEE THIS MOVIE IS A BAD PARENT.

Movies have ratings for a reason people!!!

The audience in the theatre was mostly children, brought by “parents” who undoubtedly thought that special effects robots= childrens movie and perfectly displayed everything that is wrong with our world.

At every crude sexual joke they taught their kids to laugh. At every graphic mutilation they taught their kids to cheer. At every screen shot of a pretty girl the “men” in the room let out an audible “woah!” or “holy crap!” with their wives or girlfriends present…

It makes me sad to think that the people my age who are making these movies now, people who also grew up watching things like the Transformers, have degraded to the point that this is what they feel they need to make it into… pop-culture trash. We cannot even appreciate a science fiction movie without crude humor, graphic violence and overall immaturity in every facet. We have to include testicle jokes and dogs humping each other because it’s all our society can understand. We have to include half-naked women because nothing else will hold american attention. All our children want to be “gangsters” so we have to make our heros into gangsters as well.

My opinion: this movie is a disgrace and the people who made it should be embarrassed and ashamed. Consumers who embrace this sort of “entertainment” (not just this movie in particular, but all such) should also be embarrassed and ashamed. It’s no wonder our culture is going down the toilet when we glorify crap like this. The STORY being told, the depth and message of the movie has taken a backseat to the superficial and immature, the violent and profane. There was a time in entertainment when such content was added for the sake of the uneducated poor who filled the sidelines of the playhouse, because they didn’t understand the depth of the story the way the rest of the audience did. Today such content is the mainstream and those who enjoy taste, class and depth in their entertainment have been left sitting there with disgusted expressions, lazy imagination and insulted intellect.

Movie makers, I’m calling you out. Grow up.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on July 1, 2009, in discipleship, Family, music and entertainment, the basics, the culture, worldview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Shirley Newell

    Stan…

    My husband and I have been talking all week long about this exact same thing!!! Sadly, I guess we would have to be placed in the category of “bad parents”, as we…assuming Transformers 2 would be much the same as Transformers 1…took our kids to see this movie. We were appalled by the language especially, as well as the sensuality of this movie. My daughter Madison brought her friend Brendan along…and in the scene where the girl sheds her motorcycle gear to put on her white dress…he let out an audible “Whooooaaa!” He is 10 years old. We probably should have left the theater at that point, but we didn’t. Maybe we were hoping that each vulgarity would be an isolated scene…maybe we were afraid to disappoint the kids… But everytime it happened, we found ourselves saying aloud so that the kids (and I’m sure everyone in the near vicinity) could hear us…”Oh my goodness, he shouldn’t talk like that!” “Ohhhh…those robots have potty mouths!”…etc. I’m sure people thought we were ridiculous…and probably wished we would shut up. Needless to say, during the car ride home, we had much discussion about appropriate behaviour, appropriate language, etc., etc. And we thought we were taking our kids to a child-friendly movie! To be perfectly honest, we had paid no attention to the rating of the movie, which usually is the VERY FIRST thing we look at! The writers/producers knew EXACTLY what they were doing! They made the first one tame…got everyone excited for the second one…got us hook, line and sinker. Thank you for your blog, Stan. We are SO on the same page.

    • culturalawakening

      I haven’t seen it yet myself. My wife and I rented the first one to watch at home. After watching it we determined that our kids were definitely not old enough to see it. So we kind of assumed the same about the second one. My buddy Ryan is the one who published this particular blog for me. I was bummed to hear of all that garbage in the movie. I wanted to see it myself. Now I am reconsidering. Thanks for your honesty Shirley. It really is unfortunate that they market stuff like this to kids (Burger King as an example), then when you go to the movie it’s full of sex and profanity. Part of the desensitization that our culture is currently undergoing. It’s really too bad. My kids will most likely never know the true kinds of heroes that I did growing up.

  2. I saw it and agree, aside from the filth it was good, good action, good story. Horrible language and sexuality. The cussing was awkward and forced the stupid sexual parts were in poor taste and horribly placed. From an artistic point of view the movie was a masterpiece that they let a junior higher scribble all over. A total wast of a movie. Optimus Prime is amazing but not worth the loss in intellect listening to robots cuss each other out. The gangster stereotype offended even me and I am not gangster. Who ever heard of a transformer that can’t read. Who let the junior higher write for a hollywood movie?

  3. Yes, I totally agree. It’s too bad, I enjoyed the first one- so I had high hopes for part 2. It was immature, sophomoric, and shallow. Too bad.

Leave a Reply

